2020 Basketball Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony Pushed to 2021

The 2020 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame enshrinement ceremony will be postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.


This year’s legendary group of inductees features some of the sports biggest stars ever, including Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan, and Kevin Garnett.  Jerry Colangelo, chairmen of the board of governors for the Hall of Fame, says even the proposed alternate 2020 dates are just not feasible in light of the coronavirus pandemic.

“We’re definitely canceling,” Colangelo said. “It’s going to have to be the first quarter of next year. We’ll meet in a couple of weeks and look at the options of how and when and where.”


Colangelo said there will be separate ceremonies for the two classes of inductees, even though they’ll both fall in the calendar year of 2021.


The list of 2020 inductees also includes former Rockets coach Rudy Tomjanovich, 10-time WNBA All-Star and four-time Olympic gold medalist Tamika Catchings, Baylor women’s basketball coach Kim Mulkey, Bentley College women’s basketball coach Barbara Stevens, former FIBA and IOC executive Patrick Baumann and former college coach Eddie Sutton, who died Saturday.



Tags: , , , ,